State of Wisconsin
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES

WISCONSIN

DEPT. OF NATURAL RESOURCES

HAZARDOUS WASTE AND/OR PCB
TRANSPORTER LICENSE INFORMATION AND
APPLICATION PACKAGE

Dear Hazardous Waste and/or PCB Transporter Applicant:

Thank you for your interest in becoming a licensed hazardous waste and/or PCB transporter in
Wisconsin.

This is an annual license with the license period beginning on October 1 and expiring on September 30.
The annual license fee for a hazardous waste transporter is $400. Unfortunately, this fee cannot be
prorated.

A copy of the Wisconsin regulations for the transportation of hazardous waste (Wisconsin
Administrative Code Chapter NR 663) is available on the website. These rules reference U.S.
Department of Transportation regulations governing hazardous materials transportation. For more
information, call the USDOT/RSPA helpline at 1-800-467-4922 or go to their webpage at
http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/safety-security/hazmat/complyhmregs.htm. If you also intend to license as a
“Full Service Contractor” (PCBs), you will need to have a minimum of $300,000 in liability insurance. A
copy of the Wisconsin Administrative Code NR 157 covering the requirements for management of
PCBs is also available on the website.

This agency is required by state statute (s. 299.07(1)(a), Wis. Stats), to obtain each applicant’s social
security number, or if the applicant is not an individual, the applicant’s federal employer identification
number (FEIN). The Department must have this information before issuing or renewing the listed
registration, certification or license. Please fill out Form 9400-568 Social Security Number/FEIN
Collection Request and submit it with the application. The form is available on the website.

Please complete the Hazardous Waste and/or PCB Waste Transportation License Application Form
4400-086 and the SSN/FEIN form and attach a check or money order payable to the Wisconsin
Department of Natural Resources in the amount of $400. Send the check, completed forms, and proof
of liability insurance for $300,000 (if transporting PCB waste) to the appropriate regional environmental
program associate. To determine the correct regional office to send the application materials to, please
choose the region that includes the county where your vehicle(s) are stored. If your facility is located
out of state, return your application materials to the regional office in which the majority of your service
will be provided, or the region that will be your point of entry to the State of Wisconsin.

This license is subject to annual renewal applications and fees in order to remain current. You will
receive a renewal application each May and a fee statement each June.

If you have any questions as you complete the application, please contact your regional environmental
program associate.

Thank you.
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