
Small Game Hunting Privileges for First Time Hunter Education 
Graduates 

 
 

Question:  Are 10 or 11 year olds who have completed hunter education entitled to the following, 
and when: 
 
1.  Free Small Game hunting privileges  
 
 Yes (but only if a resident) 
 
Clarification of current statutory language;  The law states any RESIDENT who is a graduate of a 
Wisconsin Hunter Education Course may use their certificate in place of their small game hunting 
license if they are completing the course for the first time.   Although the law still states that the 
certificates of accomplishment issued to a person under age 12 is not valid for the hunting of 
small game UNTIL that person becomes 12 years of age, the legislature has created an exemption 
to this provision if the person is hunting under the authority of the Hunting Mentorship Program.   
 
Therefore, anyone age 10 or older who graduates from a Wisconsin Hunter Education Course and 
who is a resident, may use their hunter education certificate in place of a small game hunting 
license for the hunting season license year which begins during the year in which they completed 
the course.   Example, if a person completes their hunter education course in 2010, they do not 
need to purchase a small game hunting license to hunt small game during the April 1, 2010 - 
March 31, 2011 license year.  They must carry their certificate of accomplishment with them 
while hunting if using it as their small game hunting license authorization.   
 


