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Title: Remove deer hunting back tag requirement

Several years ago neighboring states eliminated the mandate that hunters wear
a back tag. Most states have removed back tag laws leaving only Wisconsin and
New York that still require them. Turkey, small game, grouse, predator hunters
and fishermen are not mandated to wear a back tag.

Bow and gun deer or bear hunters dislike back tags because they’re noisy. Also,
they don’t like poking holes in costly hunting coats. If we lose our back tag
while hunting or don’t remember to move it to another hunting coat, we are
cited and fined nearly $200. Estimates show that it costs the state about
$160,000 to print the back tags, so there is a cost savings by removing them.

The reasons to get rid of the back tag are noise, inconvenience, damage to
clothing and fines if the back tag falls off or is lost. All of these are good
reasons to remove the back tag requirement.

BE IT RESOLVED, that at its meeting held in Washburn County on April 9, 2012
that the Conservation Congress work with the Department and NRB to take
action to correct this situation by working with the legislature to remove the
requirement of wearing a back tag while deer or bear hunting.
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